OSRS: Kourend

Kourend in Old School RuneScape (OSRS) is a combination of aspects from Great Kourend, the Catacombs of Kourend, and Kourend Favour and their history and gameplay elements.

The Old School RuneScape (OSRS) game format describes some of the older RuneScape games that players can access and play, even now.

Within OSRS, Kourend is an important concept that encapsulates many of the aspects of the Kourend kingdom in the Gielinor realm like Great Kourend, the Catacombs, and the Favour system in the kingdom. These aspects all have their own history and gameplay aspects.

What is OSRS and how does it work?

Old School RuneScape (OSRS) is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game developed by Jagex Ltd. This OSRS name describes previous versions of the popular RuneScape game, which were taken from an old RuneScape server on 10 August 2007.

After this new format was announced, a poll was started that allowed fans of the game to decide on various features by voting. Now, fans can play OSRS on the same account that they play Runescape Classic, but statistics, items, and quests are kept separate for the formats.

OSRS: Kourend

In OSRS, players explore the realm of Gielinor, which is divided into different kingdoms. Players must complete a range of objectives in these kingdoms to increase their skill levels and abilities to gather various items as they progress in the game.

Kourend is one of these kingdoms found on a continent called Zeah. It is one of the largest Kingdoms in Gielinor, which is rich in history and an important part of your gameplay. Even though it is referred to as a kingdom, Kourend is actually ruled by the Kourend Council that represents the five Houses for each city.

To understand Kourend’s history and gameplay, there are various ways that Kourend fits into this world and a few factors about the main aspects of Kourend that you should consider, such as:

Factor Summary

Great Kourend

Great Kourend is the only accessible kingdom in Zeah, and it is ruled by the Kourend council.

Catacombs of Kourend

The Catacombs lay beneath Great Kourend and they house many of the monsters that players normally have to fight during Slayer Assignments.

Kourend Favour

Players must earn favour with the five houses in Kourend in order to earn certain privileges and complete assignments.
OSRS: Kourend
© Jagex Games

About Great Kourend

Great Kourend is the main land mass that combines the cities from the five houses. Some of the most important aspects to consider when it comes to Great Kourend are:

Aspects Description

How to get to Great Kourend

·    Speaking to Veos in Port Sarim

·    Travelling to the Piscarilius House or Land’s End

·    Using teleports

The five cities

The Great Kourend is compiled of five cities, namely:

·    Arceuus House

·    Hosidius House

·    Lovakengj House

·    Port Piscarilius House

·    Shayzien House

Other areas in Great Kourend

Other areas include:

·    Kourend Woodland, which is a wooded area that has various settlements where players can find Kharedst’s memoirs

·    Northern Tundras which is an icy and largely uninhabited area where players can find Wintertodt

About the Catacombs of Kourend

The Catacombs were created during the God Wars by Skotizo – a demi-boss that players can access through the altar, at the centre of the Catacombs once they have reached various gameplay objectives.

The Catacombs of Kourend is a multi-combat area, except for the brutal dragon area. It is important for players to use Prayers or other healing methods to protect them against high-level monsters that can gang up against players in this area.

Although players cannot place dwarf multi-cannons in the Catacombs, you can bury bones to restore some of your points while you are in the Catacombs.

To transport through the Catacombs, you need to use ancient shards at the altar. This allows you to access all four sections of the Catacombs including Demon’s Run, Dragon’s Den, Reeking Cove, and The Shallows.

How does Kourend Favour work?

Favour is an important concept for gameplay in Kourend, where players have to earn a positive reputation by completing tasks to impress the five Houses (or cities) of Great Kourend. The more favour you earn, the more privileges and rewards you unlock.

Every city has its own activities that you can complete to earn favour and some activities require higher skill levels but earn you more favour and can even earn you extra rewards.

1 thought on “OSRS: Kourend”

Leave a Comment